top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBizarre Contessa

The Soul's Wintered Torpor



"I miss you at mid-day as my eyes become mist."

 

In evenings like this one, I miss you with my soul. Leaving consciousness, I burn, as flame over coal. In the reeling moments of suffering,  my eyes fill with tears. My soul longs for your company, as it has for hundreds of years.

In times of daylight, a vision, a word or two, Bring rushing back like madness, my longing for you.

In the crisp clicks of dusk and in the first whispers of the eve, My hands reach for the locket, and my mind there dost grieve. Kissing you gently, in the only way I may, The tears fall just softly, as my fingers they play with the chain and the amulet, holding contents so dear, Eyes closing in sadness, you're so far, yet so near.

Living without you is aging me so, Life is discord and clamoring imbalance, no reason without love's flow.

I miss you in the mornings, your voice wakes me from dreams love's tragedy henceforth, coming apart at the seams. Soft prayers for you in those early moments spin forth like the moon's tidal change, Limitless and infinite, love's want knows no range. No comfort or solace, do I find in life's days, Loneliness has companioned me, A constant partner, He stays.

I miss you at mid-day as my eyes become mist. Remembrances of making love, Past lives where we kissed. The wine has no flavor, Food has little taste. Moments spent alone and desolate, My soul seems to waste.

I miss you in dreamtime Your face there, I see. Even then, one finds no comfort, Just tears amidst dreams, no respite for me.

I cannot convey to you, though the gods know I've tried. You don't seem to realize, Only life here, has died. My heart still is yours It will remain so. Nothing in this world makes sense, anymore, lost are its ebb and flow.

I miss you in the simplest ways, in times both gentle and bold, Yet one doesn't know how to break through the barriers, and the cold.

I wonder if you miss me at all, these things I do think. As the slurry of pain and loneliness, from the cup of sorrow, I drink.

I miss you in daytime, when the sun warms my skin, I remember your laughter, your smiling words  touching me within.

I miss you at dusk, in the afternoon's end, Your breathing, your presence so wonderfully did it blend with my consciousness and spirit, I smiled from my soul, your love I felt freely, now pain takes its toll.

I miss you in the night-time, and in the wake of lonely dreams, Yet there are more acute longings, in other moments it seems.

For though I miss you in these days and with night's darkness like a ghost, It is within these moments of sad silence, that I miss you, the most.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nacht

bottom of page